Mind yours…

This is a saying I used to hear a lot growing up! Parents say it and even your peers. A quick short reminder to mind your business!

This is one thing that I will never understand why it’s so hard for people to do. People spend entirely too much time focusing on the affairs of others when that time could be better spent working on their own outstanding to-do-list. Like cleaning out their refrigerator, sweeping under the sofa, or doing that pile of laundry that’s been in the hamper all month. It’s baffling that people have the time to worry about how two people choose to love each other. Since when has there ever been a specific set of rules/checklist to follow to guarantee that a person loves another person or doesn’t love them enough? How you choose to love and show love in your relationship is up to you and yours and IS NOT a guideline for others to follow or live by!

Some years ago I read a book about The Five Love Languages. It’s been out a while but I still think it’s a good read because in any case or point in time facts are facts.

According to this book the five love languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

We are all givers and receivers. Some people prefer or recognize acts of love more in one love language than another. So you’ll find that some people as receivers feel that their partner is being loving and showing love when they give them Quality Time. However, they may show their love through Acts of Service.

For myself, as a receiver I don’t prefer one over the other. As a giver I tend to show my love through giving more than anything and spending time with the people I care about. I’m not too crazy about PDA so you won’t find me climbing on top of my man in public… well maybe after a few drinks but that’s just me 😏.

When you understand that there are so many different ways that a person can show you they care you tend to pay attention to those little things more.

Some people like to give things to show their love and some people like to receive things to feel loved. That doesn’t make them materialistic nor does that mean someone who shows their love through Words of Affirmation or public displays of affection love their partners anymore than the next woman or man.

With that being said as long as your friends, family, coworkers, or those that you people watch are not being verbally, physically, or emotionally abusive to one other let them love how they choose to love and Mind Yours!

Published by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *